Pronounced TOBER-mor-ay meaning Mary's Well
The only licensed distillery on the Hebridean Island of Mull, Tobermory is located in the picturesque island capital and is one of Scotland's oldest distilleries, being established by John Sinclair in 1798. It was originally named ledaig, the Gaelic for Safe Haven. The Plant has been silent for almost half of it's existence, at times the site served as a canteen for sailors and even as a power station.
Visiting between October to Easter are by appointment only.
Distillery will be closed for two years from March 31, 2017 for renovation. The visitor centre remains open. (http://whiskyadvocate.com/2017/02/08/24176/)