Whiskybase

New reviews and notes

  • Sort notes on 
  •   Total notes: 296818
grinface scored this whisky 89 points Expert Senior

I enjoyed this one so much, that I was too lazy to write propper notes. It was rather subtle sherried and not too expressive. I especially liked the spice and fruit combination.

Malzbrenner scored this whisky 85 points Connoisseur

Ein sehr guter Standard, den es auch im Jahr 2020 immer wieder unter 30€ zu kaufen gibt. Es mag Schwankungen bei den unterschiedlichen Chargen geben, aber mit diesem Whisky macht man nichts falsch, wenn man einen leckeren und günstigen Whisky mit Rauchnoten sucht.
  • Nose
    85 85
    Rauchig / süß mit maritimem Einfluss.
  • Taste
    86 86
    Voll, dezente Süße mit angenehmen Rauchnoten und einer schönen Balence der Aromen.
  • Finish
    84 84
    Mittellang mit deutlicher Süße und angnehmer Rauchnote. So wie man es erwartet, von einem weithin anerkannten Standard.

grinface scored this whisky 90 points Expert Senior

I probably forgot or didn't recognize about 100 of 200 aromas. That’s really awesome. I had fun. What a ride. Of course a cask buries the whisky here. Nevertheless, it is impressive and I think the changing aromas in particular indicate that the malt can play along. Full review (german): https://keinehalbendrinks.de/2020/09/28/noch-mehr-speyside-im-glas/

grinface scored this whisky 83 points Expert Senior

Well I suspect it would have been really good as a expensive variant that has matured for many years. So it is just fine with a few flaws. And probably far too expensive for that. Nevertheless, thanks for the transparency regarding the casks. Not every distillery does that. Full review (german): https://keinehalbendrinks.de/2020/09/28/noch-mehr-speyside-im-glas/

grinface scored this whisky 89 points Expert Senior

The nose and mouth are very good. However, it needs a few tries to get the right feeling for the wort. Then it's great. I would have liked the finish to be fuller, more voluminous. To be honest, I miss that for a rating at the top. Full review (german): https://keinehalbendrinks.de/2020/09/28/noch-mehr-speyside-im-glas/

grinface scored this whisky 82 points Expert Senior

I wouldn't call this a typical Mortlach. I miss the meat and the relish. It is in many ways drinkable, but unfortunately also with flaws. Full review (german): https://keinehalbendrinks.de/2020/09/28/noch-mehr-speyside-im-glas/

grinface scored this whisky 87 points Expert Senior

I can imagine that for some people the nose is rather exhausting. I like it anyway. But it is definitely worth trying and taking a sip. A fantastically complex, fruity whisky. A great find for under € 50. Full review (german): https://keinehalbendrinks.de/2020/09/28/noch-mehr-speyside-im-glas/

grinface scored this whisky 86 points Expert Senior

Very drinkable and tasty, too. No big show, no overselling. Just a solid Linkwood. What's not to like about that? Full review (german): https://keinehalbendrinks.de/2020/09/28/noch-mehr-speyside-im-glas/

TsiAI scored this whisky 84 points Expert Junior

观色Eyes:金色
闻香Nose:闻香倒是干爽利落,柑橘、yuzu、冬枣、桃子、铁观音茶叶子、带木香味的小叶紫檀(没想到还真闻到了,肥柴摇头),发酵面团
品味Palate:略甜,桃汁,橙皮蛋糕,橙皮酱,木质香气、烤苹果、杏肉,水果蛋糕,茶包
尾韵Finish:长,茶叶,木刨花,木书架,冰糖水
酒体Body:中轻,油脂不足
Nose:85/100
Palate:85/100
Finish:83/100
Body:84/100
Overall:84/100,比我预想要好喝,桃子味挺足的,但味道仍然只是一个普通的基础款(虽然价格很不基础款),为啥非要盯着山崎12不放呢,苏威里能找到大把的替代品,比它更好喝而且更便宜

valasios scored this whisky 86 points Expert Senior

  • Nose
    86 86
  • Taste
    87 87
  • Finish
    84 84

TsiAI scored this whisky 84 points Expert Junior

观色Eyes:金黄
闻香Nose:洋葱丝,谷物外壳、泥土,树枝、米糕,陈皮,有机试剂、橙皮蛋糕,发酵面团、红布林、鲜荆芥(此乃我最讨厌的蔬菜)
品味Palate:甜度一般,苦味中等,酸度较高。橙汁橙皮、柠檬汁、佛手柑、各种柑橘系水果合集,有足够的新鲜度,且柑橘皮的苦味也被忠实的还原出来。随着更多果茶、洛神花和奶油蛋糕的露面,后段涌现出可乐和北冰洋汽水
尾韵Finish:长,茶叶,洛神花茶、鲜木头、乱糟糟的柑橘系水果
酒体Body:中等偏轻,油脂感不多,但滑度较高,单宁不多

Nose:83/100
Palate:86/100
Finish:84/100
Body:85/100
Overall:84.5/100,闻香异常混乱,化工感强,入口的感觉反而更好,风味虽然局限在citrus上,但表达的还算称心。

TsiAI scored this whisky 83 points Expert Junior

观色Eyes:金色
闻香Nose:发酵水果,糖浆,几分钟后出现香蕉皮、过期果酱,绵密的奶油蛋糕是唯一的亮色,可惜只有几秒的寿命。
品味Palate:先是香蕉、柠檬汁打头,接着中段是鲜奶蛋糕、椰子糖、芝士慕斯,最后出现食盐、鲜木头、轻烟、柚子皮。
尾韵Finish:长,树皮、橘皮、马黛茶
酒体Body:中,油脂尚可,灼烧感强

Nose:80/100
Palate:86/100
Finish:83/100
Body:85/100
Overall:83.5/100,这个风味走向和名字是想走cream这条路吗?可惜SMWS 37.112开的是AE86,这只39.177只能做钣金王了。

Andytka3 scored this whisky 94 points Connoisseur

1508) Bunnahabhain, 1997/2018, 20YO, Palo Cortado Cask Finish, Limited Release
  • Nose
    N- Boozy dark stout notes with abundance of black fruits, think of blackcurrant, purple dark plum, marzipan and mashed dark raisins. Just as it get darker, burning wax candles brightened up with underlying rough peat smokes, sleek citrus vanilla cream, some eucalyptus, peppercorn and briny muskiness. Talkative, evolving and lasting. (92/23)
  • Taste
    P- Dry sherry with sweet dark fruits dancing on the tongue, along spicy peat, burnt salt, medicinal and dark stout-y notes. Richness developed from the back with smokes bitter chocolate. Rugged with finesse and meticulously balanced with unpretentious complex mouth coat. Subtle brininess whirling on initially but slap on your face with satisfaction like Uncle Roger slapping his rice sack, love it. (95/24)
  • Finish
    F- Long, huge dram with eager to pleased attitude. Lovely brines medicinal residue that linger at the back, minty in the middle and echoing crisp dryness at the front. (92/23)

    B/B- 95/24 Flawlessly balanced. Wee short on coastal notes initially but blossom and evolved well throughout the sipping session. Inspiring and with this quality, writing notes never a task.

    Weighted Rate- 94p

TsiAI scored this whisky 84 points Expert Junior

观色Eyes:金色
闻香Nose:较弱的火药、硝烟、硫、五花肉,然后是黄色水果,罗望子,大酱,食盐
品味Palate:较酸,微咸,甜度不高。菠萝等一点黄色水果,温带水果,奶味,木头,药水、硫、火药
尾韵Finish:长,苦底、木头、谷物、硫、炖煮水果
酒体Body:中轻,有单宁,较涩,酒体不强,

Nose:84/100
Palate:84/100
Finish:83/100
Body:84/100
Overall:84/100,克莱嘉赫最典型的几个元素均有体现,只是不够柔和细腻,略有酒精感

Seanzhang scored this whisky 93 points Expert Senior

  • Nose
    93 93
  • Taste
    94 94
  • Finish
    93 93

Paszko scored this whisky 84 points Expert Junior

[2018-02-24] Zupełnie inny kierunek beczek po rumie niż w Balvenie Carribean Cask, dużo mniej słodyczy, pojawiają się wątki wytrawnego rumu. Niezbyt skomplikowana, ale zbalansowana.
  • Nose
    84 84
    Intensywne wątki rumu, ale nie melasa, a wytrawny rum. Świeże owoce, na końcu toffi.
  • Taste
    84 84
    Przyprawy - raczej korzenne, niż w kierunku typowego spiced rum. Sporo drewna, nieskomplikowany ale przyjemny.
  • Finish
    83 83
    Średnio długi, zostaje drewno, pojawia się słodycz.

Seanzhang scored this whisky 92 points Expert Senior

  • Nose
    93 93
  • Taste
    91 91
  • Finish
    91 91

Paszko scored this whisky 82 points Expert Junior

[2018-01-19] Bardzo intensywna, zarówno torfowo, jak i owocowo, bardzo słodka.
  • Nose
    80 80
    Jodyna, dużo dymności, słodowo i zbożowo. Lekka kwaskowość na końcu.
  • Taste
    84 84
    Bardzo owocowo jak na taką dymność. Torf na pierwszym planie, ale zaraz za nim porzeczki. Trochę pieprznie.
  • Finish
    82 82
    Średnio długi (szczególnie jak na torfy). Słodycz i popiół.

Paszko scored this whisky 83 points Expert Junior

[2018-01-19] Zapach bardzo słodki i różny od wytrawnego smaku.
  • Nose
    81 81
    Toffi, kremowo, w tle trochę ziemistości, na końcu wanilia i ponownie duża kremowość.
  • Taste
    84 84
    Mocno ziołowo, tymianek, wytrawnie i ziemiście. Trochę gałki muszkatołowej. Na końcu pojawiają się owoce.
  • Finish
    83 83
    Średnio długi, dąb i owoce.

Paszko scored this whisky 79 points Expert Junior

[2018-01-19] Dość przyjemny jak na core range, słodki, owocowy Highland.
  • Nose
    78 78
    Słodki, morele, migdały. Czuć wpływ sherry dość wyraźnie, ale bez akcentów czekoladowych, tylko owocowa słodycz.
  • Taste
    80 80
    Bardzo słodka, drożdżówka, dużo owoców - rodzynki, niekoniecznie wiśnie.
  • Finish
    80 80
    Średnio długi, pojawia się goryczka i czekolada.

Seanzhang scored this whisky 94 points Expert Senior

What a tropical fruit bomb!!!
  • Nose
    92 92
  • Taste
    96 96
  • Finish
    95 95

Seanzhang scored this whisky 93 points Expert Senior

  • Nose
    91 91
  • Taste
    95 95
  • Finish
    94 94

MrNachbar scored this whisky 92 points Expert Junior

  • Nose
    90 90
  • Taste
    93 93
  • Finish
    92 92

rantandwhisky scored this whisky 92 points Newbie

This would be in the top 5 whiskies I have ever tasted. Beautifully vanilla, dark chocolate and fruit. Leaves me wanting more and wishing the bottle wasn't empty!
  • Nose
    90 90
    Vanilla
  • Taste
    95 95
    Sweet, fruity, vanilla and dark chocolate
  • Finish
    91 91
    Long and delightful

LukasJakubDrabek did not rate this whisky Expert Senior

Ralfy review 845: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EhaqN8Z7nXE (86/100).

"The familiarity of the Old Pulteney signature which I'm looking for is in there but it's been blanketed by the casks that have been used for maturing this spirit."

Whiskybase

Whiskybase is founded in 2007 with the goal to create the biggest resource of whisky information in the world. A community driven website built by and for whisky enthusiasts.  




Whiskybase B.V. 
Zwaanshals 530 
3035 KS Rotterdam 
The Netherlands 

KVK: 52072819
VAT: NL850288836B01

Copyright © 2018


Forgot your password?

Login