Whiskybase uses tracking cookies in order to improve the website. Do you allow Whiskybase to place these cookies?

You can always change your decision under the privacy settings of your account.

Regardless of your choice Whiskybase places functional cookies to store settings and account information.

New reviews and notes

  • Sort notes on 
  •   Total notes: 145028
Donwaldorf
Expert Senior Donwaldorf Tasting note
20 Sep 2017 2:00 pm
Color
Chestnutoloroso sherry
Nose

Le nez est très peu alcooleux malgré les 53.6%. Il y a  principalement des notes de fruits frais (abricot, melon et framboise), de bois précieux et de cirage. Après quelques instants se rajoute à ces notes quelques larmes de miel et de vanille.

Taste

Attaque légère aux premiers abords mais qui monte crescendo en milieu de bouche sur les épices (Piment), la vanille et les fruits frais. Le boisé se mélange harmonieusement aux fruits. Belle fraicheur en bouche.

Finish

Belle longueur sur la cire, le bois précieux et les épices. Une légère amertume boisée marque aussi cette finale de son emprunte.

Comments

Un joli Blend de 23 ans qui ne comporte que très peu de défaut. On pourrait lui reprocher d'être un peu sec et amer sur la fin mais globalement la fraicheur des fruits prend le dessus.

Il a un côté Clynelish même s'il y a très peu de chance que cette distillerie fasse partie de ce blended malt.

Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 2:52 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Nice Tobermory, i miss a bit of that dirty side notes that can make Tobermory sometimes so interesting. 

Green grapes, rubber bands and alcohol, next to some fruits as pineapple and fresh tad sour apples

In the taste a bit nutty and chocolate cream.


Weighted Rate
83.6
Nose
85
Initial taste
83
Body
84
Finish
82
Price
84
Presentation
84
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 1:36 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

take everything that is good on a standard Caol Ila 12, and double it. More taste, same amount of clean peat, and a nice kick of the alcohol. Simply splendid stuff. Enough said :)

#450

Weighted Rate
89.8
Nose
89
Initial taste
88
Body
92
Finish
90
Price
90
Presentation
90
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 1:15 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Rather delightful Tobermory. It has that exciting dirty "garbage" taste with some good old school rubber-bands. On the taste it is more minerally and clean. Good Stuff

Weighted Rate
85.6
Nose
88
Initial taste
85
Body
85
Finish
84
Price
86
Presentation
86
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 1:43 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

quite a delightful clean Blair Athol. Full of citrus sweetness and vanilla oak taste. Has some moccha and spiciness hidden away. Finish quite long


Weighted Rate
85
Nose
86
Initial taste
84
Body
85
Finish
85
Price
85
Presentation
85
My Collection
mer1973
Expert Senior mer1973 Review note
20 Sep 2017 1:28 pm
Weighted Rate
87.3
Nose
89
Initial taste
87
Body
87
Finish
86
Price
87
Presentation
88
My Collection My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 1:27 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Really fruity with a slight bitter side note to it. would be even better if the AVB% was a bit higher to deliver some punch, it's quite smooth and easy enjoyable!

Weighted Rate
87.4
Nose
88
Initial taste
87
Body
88
Finish
87
Price
87
Presentation
87
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 1:36 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017


Weighted Rate
87.2
Nose
88
Initial taste
87
Body
87
Finish
86
Price
88
Presentation
88
My Collection
Macheye
Expert Junior Macheye Tasting note
20 Sep 2017 1:27 pm
Color
Amber
Nose

Fairly acrid and arguably raw. Once you get beyond the initial notes of new make spirit and copper there are some more interesting aromas to discern - fresh barley, corn, mushrooms and cabbage all provide a really umami-driven experience. There’s little discernible sherry influence here barring some light honey sweetness and perhaps unsmoked tobacco. Resting lessens the youthful elements and adds a layer of meatiness and maltiness to the affair.

Taste

On the one hand light, grassy and with fresh fruit salad, on the other, syrupy, meaty and with a heavy underlying varnish flavour. A dash of water greatly improves the balance here – there’s some buttered corn, vanilla and mossy earthiness. Quite some salinity going on for a good salty tang.

Finish

Medium to long, very salty and fairly astringent.

Comments

I’ve had this Komagatake quite some time, and straight out of the bottle it was so explosive it was almost like my grandma’s smelling salts. Time, and oxygenation have calmed things down, but I’m still struggling with this one to be honest. Whilst displaying a 3 year old age statement is commendable, it’s hard to get over the raw youthfulness of this whisky and the strange collection of aromas and flavours. The vegetal and meaty notes are certainly interesting but, I find them rather imbalanced and jarring without water and meshed better but dulled down with. I’ve seen some very good reviews for this bottling, but alas, it’s not one for me.

https://www.thedramble.com/tastings/shinshu-mars/shinshu-mars-komagatake-3-year-old/

www.thedramble.com - it's a matter of opinion...add yours
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 1:12 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

very nice sherry whisky, however the sherry probably overwhelms the distillery profile, making it hard to guess where this one originates from.

Weighted Rate
86
Nose
87
Initial taste
85
Body
86
Finish
86
Price
86
Presentation
86
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 1:16 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Weighted Rate
86
Nose
87
Initial taste
85
Body
86
Finish
86
Price
86
Presentation
86
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 12:09 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Weighted Rate
81.6
Nose
83
Initial taste
80
Body
82
Finish
81
Price
82
Presentation
82
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 12:33 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017


Weighted Rate
77.8
Nose
79
Initial taste
77
Body
78
Finish
77
Price
78
Presentation
78
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 12:47 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

not blown away by this one. A little bit grassy, with some hay and some fruitiness. A tad young and spirity still

Weighted Rate
77.4
Nose
81
Initial taste
75
Body
78
Finish
76
Price
77
Presentation
77
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 12:31 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Delightfully fruity Ben Nevis, full of passion fruit and blue berries. It is like these good old orange Solero icecreams when it comes to this fruity explosion.

Needless to say, i bought a bottle of this one as soon as it was available.

Weighted Rate
90.2
Nose
90
Initial taste
91
Body
91
Finish
89
Price
90
Presentation
90
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 12:18 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Older Loch Lomond whisky wasn't really one of my favourites, but I heard good stories about it lately, including the hype around the "law and order Whiskynerds bottlings" So i gave this one, together with the standard Inchmurrin 12, the Madeira finish and the peated Inchmoan a try. I must say, am impressed, quality drams.

For this one: tasty sweet single (barley) grain. soft sweet body with banana, vanilla and creamy goodness

Weighted Rate
82.8
Nose
84
Initial taste
81
Body
84
Finish
82
Price
83
Presentation
83
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 12:57 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Older Loch Lomond whisky wasn't really one of my favourites, but I heard good stories about it lately, including the hype around the "law and order Whiskynerds bottlings" So i gave this one, together with the standard Inchmurrin 12, the Madeira finish and the Loch Lomond Single Grain a try. I must say, am impressed, quality drams.

For this one: I really like this one, it has the same body and style as the Inchmurrin 12, but now with peat. Not that Islay peat, but clean peat as you can have in Ardmore. The peat is nicely in balance with the body :)

Weighted Rate
84.8
Nose
86
Initial taste
85
Body
84
Finish
85
Price
84
Presentation
84
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 12:44 pm

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Older Loch Lomond whisky wasn't really one of my favourites, but I heard good stories about it lately, including the hype around the "law and order Whiskynerds bottlings" So i gave this one, together with the standard Inchmurrin 12, the peated Inchmoan and the Loch Lomond Single Grain a try. I must say, am impressed, quality drams.

For this one: Compared to the 12, this one is somewhat fuller in the body, with more sweet vanilla strawberry candy taste. 

Weighted Rate
83.8
Nose
85
Initial taste
83
Body
84
Finish
83
Price
84
Presentation
84
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 11:42 am

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Older Loch Lomond whisky wasn't really one of my favourites, but I heard good stories  about it lately, including the hype around the "law and order Whiskynerds bottlings" So i gave this one, together with the Inchmurrin Madeira Finish, the peated Inchmoan and the Loch Lomond Single Grain a try. I must say, am impressed, quality drams.

For this one: Really a good quality basic whisky, really impressive for a "standard 12yo" bottling. Cannot name alot of whisky where their basic bottling is of such level.


Weighted Rate
84
Nose
85
Initial taste
84
Body
84
Finish
83
Price
84
Presentation
84
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 11:23 am

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Weighted Rate
87.4
Nose
89
Initial taste
88
Body
87
Finish
86
Price
87
Presentation
87
My Collection
jankes
Expert Senior jankes Review note
20 Sep 2017 11:58 am
Weighted Rate
77.1
Nose
78
Initial taste
77
Body
77
Finish
76
Price
75
Presentation
80
jankes
Expert Senior jankes Review note
20 Sep 2017 10:56 am
Weighted Rate
79.8
Nose
81
Initial taste
79
Body
79
Finish
80
Price
75
Presentation
85
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 10:31 am

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

Nice all fruity dram. This is how I know and like my Dailuaine

Weighted Rate
84.8
Nose
85
Initial taste
84
Body
86
Finish
84
Price
85
Presentation
85
My Collection
Cubey666
Expert Senior Cubey666 Review note
20 Sep 2017 10:19 am

Tasted at WTF2017 - August 2017

tasty dram.

Weighted Rate
83.8
Nose
85
Initial taste
83
Body
83
Finish
84
Price
84
Presentation
84
My Collection

Whiskybase

Whiskybase is founded in 2007 with the goal to create the biggest resource of whisky information in the world. A community driven website built by and for whisky enthusiasts.  




Whiskybase B.V. 
Zwaanshals 530 
3035 KS Rotterdam 
The Netherlands 


Copyright © 2017


Forgot your password?

Login